The situation at the voting center after the results were announced.

The situation at the voting center after the results were announced.

KUALA LUMPUR: Pro-Aspirasi have clinched a sizeable victory in the seven universities which underwent campus elections today.

The universities are Universiti Putra Malaysia (UPM); Universiti Utara Malaysia (UUM); Universiti Malaysia Sarawak (Unimas); Universiti Perguruan Sultan Idris (UPSI); Universiti Malaysia Pahang (UMP); Universiti Malaysia Terengganu (UMT) and Universiti Pertahanan Nasional Malaysia (UPNM).

Earlier in the day, Pro-Aspirasi claimed victory in UUM in Sintok, Kedah, where they swept 34 out of 36 seats. Pro Mahasiswa took the remaining two seats.

But in Universiti Malaya (UM) in Petaling Jaya, confusion reigned over the status of two independent candidates who could prove to be the deciding factor on who clinches victory.

Mohamed Bukhairy Sofian, winner of a General seat for the Pro-M factionMohamed Bukhairy Sofian, winner of a General seat for the Pro-M factionPro-Mahasiswa have already claimed victory following the announcement of the unofficial results at 6.30pm today.

UM Vice-Chancellor Prof Dr Ghauth Jasmon announced that Pro-Mahasiswa had clinched 20 seats while Pro-Aspirasi won 19 seats. The two remaining seats went to independent candidates.

However, Pro-Mahasiswa reps have declared that the independents were in fact Pro-Mahasiswa representatives, thus earning them 22 seats in total. Pro-Mahasiswa candidate Mohamed Bukhairy Sofian, who bagged 1,701 votes to secure a general seat, had joined in his faction’s victory convoy following the announcement of the unofficial results.

However, Pro-Aspirasi representative Marwan Kahar Baharuddin warned the rival faction against jumping the gun.

“From the 22 candidates whom they claim are theirs, two of those are actually independents. The two have yet to decide on which factions they will join.

“We will leave it to the candidates to decide on who they will be joining,” he said.

Marwan Kahar Baharuddin, speaker for Pro-AspirasiMarwan Kahar Baharuddin, speaker for Pro-AspirasiThe results remain unofficial as yet, and the election committee will decide within the next 24-hours whether a re-election is necessary for the two seats.

The results are subject to a 24-hour objection period, followed by a 24-hour appeal period. The final results will be announced on Thursday.

Only 42 percent of UM students came out to cast their votes today.

Meanwhile, students of the International Islamic University Malaysia (UIAM) will have to cast their votes again following ‘technical problems’ in the election’s e-voting system.

UIAM Deputy Rector for Student Affairs Datuk Dr Mizan Hitam said the university authorities will put in a recommendation to the Senate that the voting process is done again to ensure fairness to all candidates.

On the technical problems, he cited an example where certain faculties which have 300 registered voters, displayed 2,000 voters.

He said in the spirit of fairness, the authorities will not be announcing the results for today’s voting.

“We will also recommend to the Senate that the next voting process be done manually,” he told a Press conference today.

On when the next round of voting will be carried out, Dr Mizan said it will be done “as soon as possible.”

At Universiti Putra Malaysia in Serdang, Pro-Aspirasi bagged 40 out of the 47 seats contested, with Pro-Mahasiswa claiming the rest.

However, results still remain unconfirmed and official results will only be known on Oct 1.

In At Unimas, all 12 seats went to Pro-Aspirasi candidates. They also won in UPSI (25 out of 29 seats), UMP (22 out of 24), UMT (18 out of 20) UPNM (all 14 seats).

As Press time, results are still unknown from voting done in Universiti Sains Malaysia (USM); Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia (UKM); Universiti Sains Islam Malaysia (USIM); Universiti Malaysia Sabah(UMS); Universiti Malaysia Kelantan (UMK) and Universiti Teknologi Malaysia (UTM).

On Thursday, Pro-Aspirasi had emerged victorious in Universiti Malaysia Perlis (UniMAP), Universiti Sultan Zainal Abidin (UniSZA), Universiti Tun Hussein Onn Malaysia (UTHM), Universiti Teknologi MARA (UiTM) and Universiti Teknikal Malaysia Melaka (UTeM).

– mD

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s